Alpha Industries N-3B Parka : Men's Flight Jackets
Home :: Alpha Industries Parkas :: Alpha Industries N-3B Parka :: Write Alpha Industries N-3B Parka Reviews!

Alpha Industries N-3B Parka Alpha Industries N-3B Parka : Men's Flight Jackets Alpha Industries N-3B Parka
Looking for a durable cold weather parka that's fashionable and our warmest yet? The USAF N-3B parka fits the bill. This Snorkel parka features reinforced elbow patches, a full-length storm flap and inset knit cuffs for durability and protection against the elements. The N-3B parka’s nylon outer shell/polyester interlining ensures that no cold air seeps in. Our hood is lined and trimmed with synthetic fur, complete with adjustable draw cord/take-up strap.
Overall Product Rating: Excellent
Write your own review!
14 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries N-3B Parka
Viewing 1-14 of 14
First | Previous   1   Next | Last
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent The best jacket for cold and rain weather
Reviewed by: Eduardo Frydman Sunday, February 03, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I was in Europe up to the last week , the temperature in many cases was sub zero and a lot of rain and snow , my N3B had an excellent performance in that weather conditions !!!!!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent review after 12 years
Reviewed by: James Singer Thursday, December 27, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought this parka in 2000. Since then, it has been all over the Western US from San Diego and up in to Canada (but not as far N. as Alaska). I have worn this parka in all kinds of weather including rain, snow and in icy conditions. I have slept in this parka and worn it while hiking, camping and just walking to school. It has kept me warm in all conditions. The reason I am writing this review though is because it still looks new, which is the weirdest thing. I am sure our US servicemen can destroy them but as a civilian wearing this parka here and there throughout the coldest days in the last 12 years, I have not been able to put a dent in this parka. I HIGHLY recommend it. I will check back in 12 years for another review.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair Good parka for Russian fall and early winter
Reviewed by: Mihail Kosov Sunday, September 16, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I am disagree with Nurok and Ivan. I bought my N3B in 2008.

I wear it in Chelyabinsk (South Ural) and the comfort temperature is about -10..-15C. At -20C this parka is cold. Totally it is a very good parka for Russian fall and early winter.

Ivan, how do you wear this parka in -48C?
Maybe I have a wrong N3B?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent one life
Reviewed by: akis koutsodimos Wednesday, February 29, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought my first n-2b at 1989.i was at technical high school after for 4 years and i used to ware it every day.after that for 2 years at Greek marines and NATO exercises and and now as father and as technical manager ,i still ware it at my work.1989-2012


Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Alpha N3-B parka really is a classic!
Reviewed by: Mark Fletcher Thursday, February 16, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've had my parka for a few months now and I think it is absolutely brilliant for the money. It is iconic and looks very similar to the 70's parkas we all wore in the school playground. I can't really comment on it's performance in very cold weather i.e. -20C and below as the temperatures in the UK generally do not go as low as in North America but I recently wore it in -10C with only 2 thin layers underneath and I was very comfortable. Besides, the secret to keeping warm in very cold temperatures is wearing layers and keeping your head warm and the N3-B definitely has the best snorkel hood for keeping the cold and wind out. I am not sure why anyone would wear just a t-shirt under a heavy coat in very low temperatures. I think the sizing is wrong because I am a 43 inch chest but the large was too big for me. Medium is perfect. I would agree with other web reviews in saying that the buttons are not sewn on well enough and Alpha need to address this immediately. I would also have liked to have seen real coyote fur trim as an option. Apart from that, the quality is very good and second to none for the money. It is also the coolest looking parka bar none. I also have an Alpha MA-1 flight jacket and I'm not sure which one I love more!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Tested on winter demonstration
Reviewed by: Ivan Monday, February 06, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Tested N3B on Saturday demonstration in Moscow, Russia. About 3 hours outdoor with litle movement and temerature were -20C (-4F) and wind - parka is good!
Size +1 to usual (I have 3XL - 4XL fits good and allow alot of underwear)
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent The best coat I have ever owned!
Reviewed by: Mark Fletcher Wednesday, February 01, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: This parka is awesome in every way. It is very warm without feeling too heavy or bulky and the quality is excellent. The fur hood trim is also an iconic feature and keeps you warm no matter how cold or windy it gets. I would however have liked there to have been a real fur option available in the UK. The coat is toastie warm and I don't need to wear much underneath it although temperatures hardly ever go below -10C unless you live in the Scottish Highlands. It is also the coolest looking parka on the market and takes me back to my school playground days in the 70s. My only criticism as mentioned by another reviewer is that the buttons are not sewn on well enough. Other than that, it is the dog's privates! I have just ordered an Alpha MA-1 flight jacket and I can't wait for it to arrive as well?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent not as good as i read
Reviewed by: Anton Sunday, January 29, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I buy this jacket in my town. Yesterday i spent about one hour on the air with -27C temperature and strongly frozen (i live in Siberia, -27 not so cold for us).
My 10 years old noname jacket more warm and more comfortable. I try to return this jacket to the shop.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair metal or plastic
Reviewed by: Andrew Saturday, January 28, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: N-3B Parka - the first figure the main lock zipper is made of metal, and the following is made of plastic. in what is true? Why plastic?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Last week was - 48 C in YAKUTSK
Reviewed by: Nurok Wednesday, December 28, 2011
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Last week was - 48 C and this parka was excellent! Very comfortable, lightweight and warm. First time i thought that it must be cold in this parka, because it dont look like really warm, for example "some canadian" parka looks more tuffer and bigger, BUT N3B was really really good in extra cold winter! And it cost not that much! And I want to give some recommendations:
1) I think that parka must be lil bit more longer, till knees.
2) And it must be some kind belt inside that will protect from wind that blow from under.
3) The schoulders must be more dick.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Perfect for Norwegian winters..
Reviewed by: Robert Thursday, November 17, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Had mine for 3 years and It never faild, in rain or snow, always kept me warm and dry. Even with rain it works well, but it´s not a raincoat.
A 40 minutes walk makes me sweat in -15 Celcius.
I love everything about It..seems like good quality but miss a zipper pocket on the inside. Anyway we now have 3 in our house and Im for sure gonna buy one more.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent I am from Yakutsk and its -50 C here in winter!
Reviewed by: Nurok Sunday, October 23, 2011
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: This winter I will try N3B parka in the coldest city of the world! I hope that this parka will be warm:)
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Very Good This Parka is Awesome
Reviewed by: Michael Branham Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I love the N3B Parka, I bought My 1st one in 1996 and my 2nd in 2005. I love it it's warm even the coldest the fur lined hood is unbeatable in warmth....
the ONLY flaw I have found, is that my big storm flap buttons worked loose and came off to easy... Some thread like
30lb Braided fishing line... would work well in keeping them on.. but other than that it's Awesome
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Bring on the winter
Reviewed by: Andrew Drane Saturday, June 18, 2011
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros: Very Warm, comfortable, Looks awesome
Cons: I like it too much, not waterproof, Just a little to much synthetic fur
Purchased From: ASOS.COM
Review: I look forward to winter now, I love breaking my N-3B parker out of the wardrobe, putting it on zipping it up and heading out, confident that no matter how cold it gets, Im going to be warm and comfortable all day long.

The only thing Im not too keen on is the amount of synthetic fur. Over here in the South of England UK its rare for it to drop below -10oC, they generally don't dip below -5oC so although I love the synthetic fur it dose look a bit over the top at times. Maybe I should move somewhere colder.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No