Alpha Industries N-3B Parka : Men's Flight Jackets
Home :: Alpha Industries Parkas :: Alpha Industries N-3B Parka :: Write Alpha Industries N-3B Parka Reviews!

Alpha Industries N-3B Parka Alpha Industries N-3B Parka : Men's Flight Jackets Alpha Industries N-3B Parka
Looking for a durable cold weather parka that's fashionable and our warmest yet? The USAF N-3B parka fits the bill. This Snorkel parka features reinforced elbow patches, a full-length storm flap and inset knit cuffs for durability and protection against the elements. The N-3B parka’s nylon outer shell/polyester interlining ensures that no cold air seeps in. Our hood is lined and trimmed with synthetic fur, complete with adjustable draw cord/take-up strap.
Overall Product Rating: Excellent
Write your own review!
23 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries N-3B Parka
Viewing 1-20 of 23
First | Previous   1 | 2   Next | Last
Show All
Excellent Withstood the Arctic Blast of Wisiconsin
Reviewed by: David Panlener Saturday, July 19, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Last year I bought the N-3B Parka because I needed a winter jacket, and I hated the winter jackets I had worn in the past; because they either didn't keep me warm or they got wet very easily. When it got colder it served me pretty well, but the the true test was in January when the first wave of the polar vortex came through Milwaukee, WI. Overtime the temperature went down from -5 to -10 degrees Fahrenheit. There were times I stood outside in the cold for more than twenty minutes, and for all the days in winter I wore that parka. I say with high marks; it never failed me! It kept warm on the most coldest days I have ever experienced, the wind flap kept the cold air from blowing into my jacket. No matter how much snow I shoveled the inside of my jacket never got wet and the hood with the fur trim kept the cold wind and snow from blowing into my face.If anyone is thinking about buying this parka; I strongly recommend this jacket for subzero climates.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Sometimes things really ARE classic for a reason!
Reviewed by: Roger Friday, February 21, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought my Alpha N3B in 2011. I am a Government Inspector doing rental code enforcement for a living. I live in Iowa, and american state renowned for its very harsh winters. Because I work mostly outside all day inspecting buildings it was critical for me to get a coat that could really perform in rain, sleet, howling winter winds, and sub-zero temperatures during Iowa's long Evil winters. I knew I needed to invest in good gear, but I'm not very wealthy (government workers arent always rich) and I needed a coat that would LAST me a couple years as well as perform. I can say with total honestly that this coat has been a wonderful investment in my comfort. I never get cold. On the Days with 25 mph sustained winds and windchill dropping the temperatures to -40 I am still warm and toasty with just a uniform and a sweater underneath. Pair this parka with a good pair of gloves, a good stocking-cap, a warm scarf (I have found that desert scarves, or Keshivas, while not heavy, work very well)and a good pair of winter boots and you are set for most temp extremes in the upper midwest of the US. The coat is constructed well with the one exception that everyone complains about: the zipper cover flap attaches with large buttons you can see in photos, and these can wear loose at the attachment threads or fall off after time. That being said, Im crawling around in attics and basements and am surprised the coat isnt more damaged than it is. The rest of the stitching is top notch, the zippers are all heavy-duty. I wash it in the wash machine at home following the directions,and the thing just comes back for more punishment. I have learned to prefer this coat to my carhartt coat. I have found that the thing is both a work-horse AND a thing of beauty as well....sometimes things really ARE a classic for a reason. this coat is as important as any other piece of my equipment. I'm more than pleased with my investment in this coat. If it gets lost or stolen I'll order another one to replace it. I dont get a discount or work for Alpha, and I dont like all of their products, but this is a winner in my book.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good USAF Snorkel Parka N-3B
Reviewed by: Fred Di Francesco Friday, February 14, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I'm glad I bought this nice warm coat; we're having a particularly harsh winter, very cold--20 below zero--and lots of snow. When you get this baby all zipped and buttoned, it WILL keep you warm, and the Snorkel Hood extends several inches past your face, so you're protected from the wind from all angles. Even a straight-on wind gets dissipated by all that fur. The only problem I had with the coat is the finishing touches: the zipper isn't sewn in quite correctly and it takes a while to get that lined up and zipped up. And the buttons; two of them fell off within the first couple times I wore the coat. I sewed them back on, but for $200, I shouldn't have to sew buttons on. In spite of these quibbles, I would recommend this coat, especially in cold climates; if it's just a little cool out, this coat would probably be too much. I would only add that when you receive the coat you should take some good nylon thread, give the buttons a couple stitches, and burn the ends of the thread, so it won’t come loose.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent good
Reviewed by: sucrier Saturday, December 28, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Very good quality parka. Needed size M and in other reviews was told to take size larger. I took L and it was a mistake. L is sooo big. I will try to take again but my usual M size. Do not size up.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Ideal jacket for winter !
Reviewed by: Michal Thursday, December 19, 2013
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought this jacket a month ago, im from Czech Republic and i think this jacket is ideal for our winter, keeps you nice warm:)The temperatures are aroud zero or a little bit bellow now and i wear just shirt underneath,i look forward to really begin to freeze:) Only thing, that in our country this parka cost usually around 300 bucks in the equivalent of crones:(
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Good Value, but Take Care
Reviewed by: John Monday, November 11, 2013
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Tip: don't tie the drawstring too tight, as it causes undue strain on the nylon shell. Eventually you'll get holes in the area where the drawstring and shell meet.

Otherwise, nice and toasty for Chicago winters.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent A Great Winter Jacket !!
Reviewed by: Bob P. Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Back shopping for a replacement because some bastard stole mine. I had my N-3B parka for almost 10 years and I loved it! Spent nights on the ski slopes working snow crew with temps in the teens and single digits and I was plenty warm (with layers). Ice fishing in snow mixed with freezing sleet was comfortable. Zippers and snaps all were functional, fabric was in fine shape except where I burned a spot on the wood stove. My only (slightly) negative comment was that I found the hood was cut a little too roomy for my liking. These folks who found this parka left them cold makes me wonder if they got a counterfeit Chinese knock off instead.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent The best jacket for cold and rain weather
Reviewed by: Eduardo Frydman Sunday, February 03, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I was in Europe up to the last week , the temperature in many cases was sub zero and a lot of rain and snow , my N3B had an excellent performance in that weather conditions !!!!!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent review after 12 years
Reviewed by: James Singer Thursday, December 27, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought this parka in 2000. Since then, it has been all over the Western US from San Diego and up in to Canada (but not as far N. as Alaska). I have worn this parka in all kinds of weather including rain, snow and in icy conditions. I have slept in this parka and worn it while hiking, camping and just walking to school. It has kept me warm in all conditions. The reason I am writing this review though is because it still looks new, which is the weirdest thing. I am sure our US servicemen can destroy them but as a civilian wearing this parka here and there throughout the coldest days in the last 12 years, I have not been able to put a dent in this parka. I HIGHLY recommend it. I will check back in 12 years for another review.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair Good parka for Russian fall and early winter
Reviewed by: Mihail Kosov Sunday, September 16, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I am disagree with Nurok and Ivan. I bought my N3B in 2008.

I wear it in Chelyabinsk (South Ural) and the comfort temperature is about -10..-15C. At -20C this parka is cold. Totally it is a very good parka for Russian fall and early winter.

Ivan, how do you wear this parka in -48C?
Maybe I have a wrong N3B?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent one life
Reviewed by: akis koutsodimos Wednesday, February 29, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I bought my first n-2b at 1989.i was at technical high school after for 4 years and i used to ware it every day.after that for 2 years at Greek marines and NATO exercises and and now as father and as technical manager ,i still ware it at my work.1989-2012


Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Alpha N3-B parka really is a classic!
Reviewed by: Mark Fletcher Thursday, February 16, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've had my parka for a few months now and I think it is absolutely brilliant for the money. It is iconic and looks very similar to the 70's parkas we all wore in the school playground. I can't really comment on it's performance in very cold weather i.e. -20C and below as the temperatures in the UK generally do not go as low as in North America but I recently wore it in -10C with only 2 thin layers underneath and I was very comfortable. Besides, the secret to keeping warm in very cold temperatures is wearing layers and keeping your head warm and the N3-B definitely has the best snorkel hood for keeping the cold and wind out. I am not sure why anyone would wear just a t-shirt under a heavy coat in very low temperatures. I think the sizing is wrong because I am a 43 inch chest but the large was too big for me. Medium is perfect. I would agree with other web reviews in saying that the buttons are not sewn on well enough and Alpha need to address this immediately. I would also have liked to have seen real coyote fur trim as an option. Apart from that, the quality is very good and second to none for the money. It is also the coolest looking parka bar none. I also have an Alpha MA-1 flight jacket and I'm not sure which one I love more!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent parka
Reviewed by: daniel Tuesday, February 07, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Es muy buena pero no es resistente al agua porque cala el agua sobre todo en los bolsillos.Eso sí, no pasas frio.Le falta que sea impermeable
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Tested on winter demonstration
Reviewed by: Ivan Monday, February 06, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Tested N3B on Saturday demonstration in Moscow, Russia. About 3 hours outdoor with litle movement and temerature were -20C (-4F) and wind - parka is good!
Size +1 to usual (I have 3XL - 4XL fits good and allow alot of underwear)
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent The best coat I have ever owned!
Reviewed by: Mark Fletcher Wednesday, February 01, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: This parka is awesome in every way. It is very warm without feeling too heavy or bulky and the quality is excellent. The fur hood trim is also an iconic feature and keeps you warm no matter how cold or windy it gets. I would however have liked there to have been a real fur option available in the UK. The coat is toastie warm and I don't need to wear much underneath it although temperatures hardly ever go below -10C unless you live in the Scottish Highlands. It is also the coolest looking parka on the market and takes me back to my school playground days in the 70s. My only criticism as mentioned by another reviewer is that the buttons are not sewn on well enough. Other than that, it is the dog's privates! I have just ordered an Alpha MA-1 flight jacket and I can't wait for it to arrive as well?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent not as good as i read
Reviewed by: Anton Sunday, January 29, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I buy this jacket in my town. Yesterday i spent about one hour on the air with -27C temperature and strongly frozen (i live in Siberia, -27 not so cold for us).
My 10 years old noname jacket more warm and more comfortable. I try to return this jacket to the shop.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair metal or plastic
Reviewed by: Andrew Saturday, January 28, 2012
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: N-3B Parka - the first figure the main lock zipper is made of metal, and the following is made of plastic. in what is true? Why plastic?
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Last week was - 48 C in YAKUTSK
Reviewed by: Nurok Wednesday, December 28, 2011
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Last week was - 48 C and this parka was excellent! Very comfortable, lightweight and warm. First time i thought that it must be cold in this parka, because it dont look like really warm, for example "some canadian" parka looks more tuffer and bigger, BUT N3B was really really good in extra cold winter! And it cost not that much! And I want to give some recommendations:
1) I think that parka must be lil bit more longer, till knees.
2) And it must be some kind belt inside that will protect from wind that blow from under.
3) The schoulders must be more dick.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Perfect for Norwegian winters..
Reviewed by: Robert Thursday, November 17, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Had mine for 3 years and It never faild, in rain or snow, always kept me warm and dry. Even with rain it works well, but it´s not a raincoat.
A 40 minutes walk makes me sweat in -15 Celcius.
I love everything about It..seems like good quality but miss a zipper pocket on the inside. Anyway we now have 3 in our house and Im for sure gonna buy one more.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent great jacket
Reviewed by: lyudmila utkina Monday, November 07, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the N-3B Parka to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: just a wonderful jacket, bought it for his son, he is delighted, comfortable and warm ..... ordered a size xl (usually son wears this size), but this jacket was a little loose, it will have to grow up a bit ...
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No