Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket : Men's Flight Jackets
Home :: Alpha Industries Flight Jackets :: Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket :: Write Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket Reviews!

Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket : Men's Flight Jackets Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket

A mid-weight nylon with water resistance and scads of versatility, the MA-1 Navy fighter pilot jacket was the first military flight jacket to cross over into civilian fashion. Our nylon flight jacket includes knit cuffs, a knit collar and waistband, as well as a strong front zipper with storm flap for warmth. There are multiple snap-closure pockets as well as the utility/pencil pocket with the "Remove Before Flight" keychain. Our MA-1 jackets are reversible to bright orange, making them ideal for rescue missions and other times when visibility is imperative.

This current version has been kept as close as possible to the classic specifications (dating back to the early 1950’s) and also received several revisions during the 1960’s.


Overall Product Rating: Excellent
Write your own review!
10 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket
Viewing 1-10 of 10
First | Previous   1   Next | Last
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Fair Knock-offs are a better fit
Reviewed by: Nick Watson Wednesday, January 30, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I have two of these jackets now, and really love the quality of the nylon, cuffs, waistband and heavy duty zipper. They have a nice weight to them and are warm.

However, I have found differences with my two jackets. One seems to have thicker padding inside it, which makes the sleeves feel much smaller/tighter and makes arm movements uncomfortable. The sleeves of this jacket are also 1 inch shorter than my other jacket, which is very noticeable and uncomfortable when wearing it. This can play on your mind when wearing it. Just 1 inch makes a HUGE difference from being perfect to being irritating. I have also found the arm pockets to be a little bit crooked, but that's no big deal.

My biggest problem with the jackets is the width from the shoulder seam to the armpit seam. It isn't wide enough. This causes the whole jacket to lift up when my arms are raised, exposing the midriff. I have many imitation flight jackets that are all such a better fit simply because the arms are an inch longer, and the distance between the shoulder seam and the armpit seam is 2 inches wider. This allows for the arms to be raised and stretched out in any direction and the body of the jacket stays where it is. I really wish Alpha could get this right. Then it would be the ultimate jacket.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent One great jacket
Reviewed by: Frank Poltenson Friday, December 28, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've had my MA-1 for one year now getting it for Christmas last year. It's a great jacket being warm, wind-resistant, and very comfortable. I was worried about the fit as most jackets are either too bulky and have too short sleeves. At 6' and 165 lb wearing a 16 x 35 dress shirt, a Large fit like a glove. My only quibbles (and these are minor) are the aluminum zipper has some sharp teeth and the jacket is made in China. (I inferred that it was made in USA). For one who owns 20 jackets, I place this is in my top two.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Tall Sizes
Reviewed by: Robert Friday, December 21, 2012
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: A note for those buying a tall size in this jacket: the tall sleeve length is only, at most, 1/2 inch longer than regular, and the body length only 3/4 inch longer.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent A classic jacket!
Reviewed by: Erik Ahlsén Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Finally got my maroon bomber! I've wanted this jacket for sixteen years! Simple equals effective, and the bomber is a simple jacket. That is why it's so easy and comfortable to wear. No hood, no pocket labyrinths - only good elemental protection and great looks. The fact that it is made in China does not matter to me. The quality is the same. I love everything about it! Easily one of the best jackets ever made! An instant hit! Once tried - always used! Thank you Alpha for bringing back the MA-1 in maroon!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Flight jacket
Reviewed by: Lauren Sunday, September 09, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've worn these jackets for the past 17 years. I can only say from experience that Alpha makes the best ones out there and will last a long time. I have just about every color they make. I even got a hooded alpha n-2b jacket. I'm on my way to getting a third for this winter. Alpha is the only company I will buy and the prices are pretty much reasonable.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent BEST MA-1 OUT THERE
Reviewed by: Michael Getz Tuesday, February 21, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Loved the first one so much I bought a second in a different color. All of Alpha's products are made so much better than competitors.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Alpha MA-1 Flying Jacket really is a classic?
Reviewed by: Mark Fletcher Thursday, February 16, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I have just received my MA-1 jacket and to say that I am pleased would be a huge understatement. It is much warmer than I had expected while being light and extremely comfortable. The outer nylon shell appears to be very tough and durable and the waist and wrist bands look as though they have been built to stand the test of time very well. With a plain white t-shirt underneath, it is without doubt one of the coolest looking jackets around. I also have an Alpha N3-B parka and I am not sure which jacket I love most!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent sweet
Reviewed by: Richard Boswell Saturday, January 28, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: love this jacket....will buy another flight jacket soon, perhaps the B-15??? a tip...if you're tall, but want a looser fit, go bigger XL's, not the XLT or 2XLT
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent One of the best
Reviewed by: James Miller Monday, January 23, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I'd previously invested money into many other jackets before receiving an Alpha Industries MA-1, and I was only mildly satisfied, given that other jackets simply did not let the skin breathe (leading to sweating, even in cold temperatures), or uncomfortable, or rubbish fits, however when I unboxed my beautiful MA-1, I could instantly feel a brilliant quality jacket. The material is soft and extremely comfortable, and the jacket is one of the warmest I've ever owned. Mine faithfully served as a pillow at one point during my first three months of living out of home and it excelled at that.

If you need a great quality and warm jacket, I highly recommend the Alpha Ma-1, look no further. The zipper is solid and works brilliantly (does not snag or catch nearly as often as other ones would), and the pockets are usefully sized.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Great Jacket!
Reviewed by: Tall Professor Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: My quest for a great flight jacket ended at Alpha! I have looked long and hard for a flight jacket to replace my old A-2, and this MA-1 did it with flying colors. It is well-constructed and sewn, durable, and made with very substantial nylon fabric. Often we think of nylon as thin "windbreaker" material-- but this is no "windbreaker." It is thick, well-lined, and comfortable, and the knit waist and cuffs hold their tension well. Best of all, the sizing is perfect-- I am quite tall (6'5") and so sleeve length is always an issue for me. With a certain amount of apprehension, I went with the 2XLT (tall), and it is as if this jacket was tailored for me, with sufficient sleeve length and then some. This is indeed a product made with quality materials, quality workmanship, and attention to detail. And finally, as far as the "cool-factor" is concerned, in the cockpit or not, this jacket is cool :-) !
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No