Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket : Men's Flight Jackets
Home :: Alpha Industries Flight Jackets :: Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket :: Write Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket Reviews!

Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket : Men's Flight Jackets Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket

A mid-weight nylon with water resistance and scads of versatility, the MA-1 Navy fighter pilot jacket was the first military flight jacket to cross over into civilian fashion. Our nylon flight jacket includes knit cuffs, a knit collar and waistband, as well as a strong front zipper with storm flap for warmth. There are multiple snap-closure pockets as well as the utility/pencil pocket with the "Remove Before Flight" keychain. Our MA-1 jackets are reversible to bright orange, making them ideal for rescue missions and other times when visibility is imperative.

This current version has been kept as close as possible to the classic specifications (dating back to the early 1950’s) and also received several revisions during the 1960’s.


Overall Product Rating: Excellent
Write your own review!
26 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries MA-1 Flight Jacket
Viewing 1-20 of 26
First | Previous   1 | 2   Next | Last
Show All
Terrible Oh my God ! This famous US aviator's jacket now made in china !
Reviewed by: NGUYEN Thursday, September 18, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I was a Vietnam era's pilot, I used to be with this jacket, It make we proud any time we wear, and the first thing we check this one anytime we buy that is the sign " Made in USA" inside the pocket.
This time, when the order comming, It look like the earth below me collapsed when I see the sign "Made in China"
I don't want my friends laugh at me !
Sorry, I will return it.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Beautiful Flight Jacket
Reviewed by: Tito Munoz Monday, September 08, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I love this Jacket. Great Job Alpha. I am so happy I found you. From now on you are my favorite online store. Thank you very much! I will be back for more shopping.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent MA-1
Reviewed by: Toshiyuki Omuro Thursday, May 08, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I like color and design also Made in the
USA.Sewing is perfect I feel pride of
American product.Looks a little bit longer
than old one.I will use long time.
Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent MA-1
Reviewed by: Omuro Toshiyuki Thursday, May 08, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I like color and design also Made in USA.
Sewing is perfect.I feel American pride of
product.Looks a little bit longer than
old one.I will use long time.
Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent MA-1
Reviewed by: Toshiyuki Omuro Wednesday, May 07, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I like color and design sewing is perfect.
I feel American pride of product.This new
Jacket is a little bit longer than old one.I will use long time.
Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Great jacket
Reviewed by: Kathy Saturday, February 22, 2014
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Purchased this flight jacket for my son. I spoke with a very helpful customer service rep, and she suggested (based on reviews, etc) that I purchase one size up. My son is 5'8", 140 pounds, slim build, long torso, and he normally wears a size medium. But, per her advice, I ordered the large. It fits him just right. He'd prefer that it was more form fitting, but with the large, he can wear a sweatshirt or sweater underneath. It's a great weight, surprisingly warm. Great first experience with Alpha Industries!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent So LUCKY!
Reviewed by: Patrick C. Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I just bought one of these about a month ago, at a Goodwill! And it's a perfect fit. I got so lucky! What an amazing jacket; I don't think I have ever had a jacket of this quality except for my leather jackets (I have a collection). It's been warm and dry so far this winter, which has been great because I didn't have a winter coat (did I mention how LUCKY I am). Just enough pockets, top quality material and production, keeps the elements out, and even the bright orange is fashionable enough to wear reversed for no reason other than to be bright orange, and very cool. Now I'm thinking of buying one for my son, though I don't think I'll get lucky at Goodwill like that again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Better than I hoped
Reviewed by: Alexander Monday, December 09, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I just received this jacket recently, having ordered it after browsing dozens of bombers, from expensive designer pieces to work-wear, and could not be more pleased with the aesthetic or the quality. It collects, in one place, everything that might draw you to the bomber--the top-heavy, militaristic silhouette, the wrist-and-waist-gripping, wind-proof openings and practical, warm fill, that glimpse of authentic orange interior. If you're like me and truly want the archetype, this might be the last jacket you ever need.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Excellent Jacket
Reviewed by: Roger H Tuesday, November 26, 2013
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I regularly wear this jacket which I purchased in 1983 - My favorite jacket, I'm thinking about upgrading to the Leather Navy
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent thank you Alpha industries
Reviewed by: chris Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I just received my Alpha Ma-1 jacket , I have to say its a great jacket and the price its worth it .. there's a lot of difference from the imitation flight jackets . My advice don't buy the imitation instead make a great choise and buy the original .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent 1979
Reviewed by: Rick Thursday, June 27, 2013
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: My partner has a MA-1 that is dated made 1st February 1979,she wears it every week and it is still in "mint" condition. Awesome quality ALPHA
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Excellent coat
Reviewed by: Jerome Lavoie Friday, April 26, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I have an old black flight jacket XL black that I have since 2004 still in excellent condition. Bought the green one in XLT because i am 6'2" long armed. The fit is awesome!!! AI should have the "T" option in all your products!
Excessively satisfied with the product!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent MA 1 FLIGHT JACKET...THE REAL DEAL
Reviewed by: FRED COCCHIARA Sunday, March 31, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: ORDERED MY REGULR SIZE,PERFECT FIT. WORKMANSHIP BETTER THAN I EXPECTED. QUALITY ALL AROUND. GO JOB ALPHA!!!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Top Quality
Reviewed by: David Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Fantastic jacket. I purchased my navy blue MA-1 flight jacket back in 1991 and still use it to this day. Only bring it out during the spring or fall and routinely get compliments. In fact, a co-worker asked where he can get one just today. When my 1 year old son is big enough to fit into one of these he will certainly get one.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Fair Knock-offs are a better fit
Reviewed by: Nick Watson Wednesday, January 30, 2013
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I have two of these jackets now, and really love the quality of the nylon, cuffs, waistband and heavy duty zipper. They have a nice weight to them and are warm.

However, I have found differences with my two jackets. One seems to have thicker padding inside it, which makes the sleeves feel much smaller/tighter and makes arm movements uncomfortable. The sleeves of this jacket are also 1 inch shorter than my other jacket, which is very noticeable and uncomfortable when wearing it. This can play on your mind when wearing it. Just 1 inch makes a HUGE difference from being perfect to being irritating. I have also found the arm pockets to be a little bit crooked, but that's no big deal.

My biggest problem with the jackets is the width from the shoulder seam to the armpit seam. It isn't wide enough. This causes the whole jacket to lift up when my arms are raised, exposing the midriff. I have many imitation flight jackets that are all such a better fit simply because the arms are an inch longer, and the distance between the shoulder seam and the armpit seam is 2 inches wider. This allows for the arms to be raised and stretched out in any direction and the body of the jacket stays where it is. I really wish Alpha could get this right. Then it would be the ultimate jacket.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent One great jacket
Reviewed by: Frank Poltenson Friday, December 28, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've had my MA-1 for one year now getting it for Christmas last year. It's a great jacket being warm, wind-resistant, and very comfortable. I was worried about the fit as most jackets are either too bulky and have too short sleeves. At 6' and 165 lb wearing a 16 x 35 dress shirt, a Large fit like a glove. My only quibbles (and these are minor) are the aluminum zipper has some sharp teeth and the jacket is made in China. (I inferred that it was made in USA). For one who owns 20 jackets, I place this is in my top two.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Tall Sizes
Reviewed by: Robert Friday, December 21, 2012
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: A note for those buying a tall size in this jacket: the tall sleeve length is only, at most, 1/2 inch longer than regular, and the body length only 3/4 inch longer.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent MA-1 Flight jacket soars to satisfaction
Reviewed by: Tom Lang Thursday, November 01, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I recently received my MA-1 flight Jacket. Having wanting one for years, I was completely satisfied with the fit and quality. I will wear it in my upper Midwest digs with ease and pride.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent A classic jacket!
Reviewed by: Erik Ahlsén Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Finally got my maroon bomber! I've wanted this jacket for sixteen years! Simple equals effective, and the bomber is a simple jacket. That is why it's so easy and comfortable to wear. No hood, no pocket labyrinths - only good elemental protection and great looks. The fact that it is made in China does not matter to me. The quality is the same. I love everything about it! Easily one of the best jackets ever made! An instant hit! Once tried - always used! Thank you Alpha for bringing back the MA-1 in maroon!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Flight jacket
Reviewed by: Lauren Sunday, September 09, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the MA-1 Flight Jacket to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've worn these jackets for the past 17 years. I can only say from experience that Alpha makes the best ones out there and will last a long time. I have just about every color they make. I even got a hooded alpha n-2b jacket. I'm on my way to getting a third for this winter. Alpha is the only company I will buy and the prices are pretty much reasonable.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No