Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat : Men's Field Coats
Home :: Alpha Industries Field Coats :: Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat :: Write Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat Reviews!

Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat : Men's Field Coats Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat
During Vietnam, the M-65 field jacket was issued to soldiers. Now, civilians can wear this tough infantry classic too, whether for fashion, function or to preserve memories of military service. This vintage field coat features a concealed hood/draw-cords for the waist, hood and hems to preserve warmth and dryness. The hunting coat’s brass zipper and snapping fasteners look fantastic while keeping out the elements. The army jacket’s bi-swing back ensures unrestrained movement.
Overall Product Rating: Very Good
Write your own review!
18 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat
Viewing 1-18 of 18
First | Previous   1   Next | Last
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Alpha M-65 is Crap
Reviewed by: JE Thursday, December 20, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Here are the cons, I don't have any pros, would not buy again.
American classic made in china.
Buttons falling off, out of the package.
Low quality fabric and manufacturing.
Sizes are not consistent.
Velcro is sub standard.

My advice, buy a used one, it costs a 3rd as much and has twice the quality.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Poor 23.04.2012
Reviewed by: Andrej Monday, April 23, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Bought the X-Large Regular, made in China.

Issues that I have are:

1. Narrow collar (7 centimeters), and 1 centimeter shorter than on my 15y old alpha jacket,
which is also X-Large Regular but made in U.S.A.

2. The lower pockets don't seem to be as deep as the before.

3. The shoulder straps aren't long enough
as on the original, 2 centimeters shorter.

I'm very disappointed.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Very Good A good medium price jacket
Reviewed by: Gorm Monday, April 16, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've had the jacket for just about one week now and I've already reattatched two of the sewn on buttons. Due to this fact I took the job of reenforcing the button treads on the other eleven buttons because I could tell they would fall out after attatching and removing the liner another coupple of times.
Despite the jacket is not GI (cargo pockets and chest pockets seems slightly smaller than the original), the over all impression is good though.
The fabric is as you should expect it to be from a field jacket. It seems to be very durable.
The OD colour might be slightly lighter than the original.
The fact that the jacket is made in China shouldn't be a factor. After all the price is absolutely reasonable. Remember - your $600 NorthFace GoreTex jacket is also most certenly also sewn in China.
Sizing: Remember that this is a field jacket. It's supposed to be baggy enough to fit a warm sweather underneath it. I'm a 42 chest 71" 185lbs guy and went with the Large Regular (my size). Perfect fit. For a field jacket that is.
If you want to wear it as a sports coat with a shirt and tie you might want to reconcider.
So far the best repro jacket I've seen.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Poor m-65
Reviewed by: Geo Thursday, March 29, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: 1. Could someone explain to me the function of the two lapel button holes on the collar.

2. I don't like the way the velcro strap is designed on the coat. The problem being is that the hook side of the velcro collar strap is exposed regardless if the strap's position. It should be reversed so that the strap has the hook side and NOT the collar. The collar would have the loop side of the velcro. The prevents a scarf from getting caught on the hooks, which will ruin many types of scarfs.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent OLD SCHOOL JACKET!
Reviewed by: Frans Sunday, March 11, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I am waring mine in 10 years now! M-65 rules and Alphas is the best. This NYCO (%50 Nylon, %50 Cotton)is grate for the winter. You would only need the liner in colder winter time.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair 3/2/12
Reviewed by: Dan Yarbrough Friday, March 02, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Bought the XXLT and the fit seems fine (6'4" 245lbs). A couple of issues that I have are:
1). The epaulettes aren't long enough
as on the original jkt I was issued.
2). The lower pockets don't seem to be as deep as the original issue.

If the epaulette issue was fixed I could live with the pockets not being deep enough.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Still great but not GI
Reviewed by: Rohan Saturday, February 18, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: An Excellent rreproduction in cloth, weight, cut, workmanship and overall feel. Hardware (snaps, zippers) appear equal to originals but pieces now bear the Alpha brand rather than e.g. Rau, Scovill, Ideal as per originals. Smaller gussets in breast pockets, narrower skirt pockets and slightly different buttons are features hitherto associated wiht knock-offs but are consistent with the Chinese manufacture. Inside pockets (zipper on right and velcro on the left along with an improved liner (available separately) that has pockets, knitted cuffs and can be worn by itself will be welcomed my most but may disapoint purists. All in all an excellent jacket which marks the evolution of the M65 from issue item to timeless classic military clothing icon
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Poor Disappointed
Reviewed by: Ben Thursday, February 09, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: This is my second M-65 and the assoicate liner bought from Alpha Industries. The first one was bought about 6 to 7 years ago. The reason for my second purchase was the great quality I had from the first jacket. This current one was nothing but disappointment.

Poorly made, the fabric on the jacket was not as good as before, the elastic sleeves of the liner are as thin as regular sport socks and this: the buttons inside the right sleeve for fastening the liner were simply not there!

To be fair, imported garments can be made in awesome quality, too, especially with the ticket price you are asking for. This in my own opinion has nothing to do with overseas production, it is only about poor factory sourcing and quality control. This jacket and liner combo will not pass for pre-production sampling, in my opinion.

If you are reading this, Alpha Industries, I would be glad to return this whole package to you at your cost. You have my email address to contact me.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good New purchase, time will tell
Reviewed by: Jeff B. Thursday, January 19, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Seems to be well made w/ good features. I read many reviews on the Alpha concerning sizing. I ordered my exact size and it fits perfectly w/ and w/o liner. At this time, well pleased w/ jacket.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Good jacket
Reviewed by: Chris Tune Friday, January 06, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I got the jacket and the liner. It is generally well made, but mine lost one of the snap bases on a pocket, so it will not snap. The system is a good one, especially with the liner made by Alpha. The Alpha liner has tight elastic wrist bands which substantially add to keeping the warmth in. The hood is handy, and the look often elicits kind comments, and some reminiscing by those who served in Army or Marines in the past.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent M-65 Field Jacket
Reviewed by: Tom Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I will only order Alpha M-65 Field Jacket the quality is excellent and I never had a problem.I made the mistake of buying a non-alpha M-65 jacket from the local military store within 2 days the lower pocket ripped and the zipper wasnt put on right.Ive been buying Alpha M-65's for years now,the only problem is they use to have different colors such as 3 Color Desert and Tiger stripe.I still have an Alpha I bought in High School and im in my 30's now and still wear it time to time.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent M65 Field Coat
Reviewed by: R Lee Wednesday, November 23, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Just a great jacket especially when combined with the optional liner.
Will last forever - 5 stars
I just don't like the fact its made in China but its still a great jacket.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Fair Good but not quite
Reviewed by: Sergey/ Belarus Monday, October 24, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Jacket normal quality but the fact that it's made in China saddens me. One of the seams on the third day broke. Attention should be paid to quality.Thanks
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Best thing you can ever have.
Reviewed by: Milan Friday, October 21, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I have this jacket for 5 years. Its very good jacket. It offers perfect protection from wind and light rain. When combined with liner - you cant be cold in winter. Its very breathable jacket. This jacket can last for 100 years. For those who wants perfect jacket for all year-round use - its an M-65 field jacket.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Feels Authentic to Me
Reviewed by: Ahson Monday, October 10, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've been shopping around and have looked at just about everything out there. This jacket is as close to the one I was issued (plus the new inside pocket) as I could find without digging for a decent military surplus jacket. I've only had it 2 weeks now so I guess I'll see how it's going to wear. So far, I'm really happy with it.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Excellent
Reviewed by: Ricardo Diemer Friday, August 19, 2011
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Make a purchase at Alpha and the products received on 8/17/2011. Everything was consistent and within the promised timeframe. I'm really pleased. I want to enjoy the attention and thank and congratulate the whole team Alpha
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Fair Buy this only if you can sew...
Reviewed by: Darkan Wednesday, June 15, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros: fabric, zippers
Cons: stitching
Purchased From: internet
Review: The main drawback with this jacket I've had so far is the stitching. I've only owned it for a bit under a year and I've re-attached 4 buttons and sewn a seam back together. I can tell already more buttons will follow, too. By contrast, I have cheap t-shirts from years before which I wear as regularly and wash far more often which have never needed repairs, so this is a bit disappointing.

On the other hand, the material itself has never torn, and the metal zippers work great. Any buttons you chance not to lose are also the perfect size to be used without lots of fiddling around.

The hood is a bit of a joke, though. Kinda like having an old convertible where you have to stop and get out to set up the roof manually if you see a cloud on the horizon. Also, don't order this in black unless you like cleaning stuff off it; it attracts dust and fluff so well you could use it to clean a room.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent M-65 Field jacket
Reviewed by: Phil Wertanen Wednesday, April 13, 2011
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? NO
Pros: Seems rugged, and decently made.
Cons:
Purchased From: Amazon.com
Review: Thought I wa buying an authentic "issued" field jacket. Turns out it was manufactured in China. Nowhere in the subcription of this jacket was that mentioned.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No