Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat : Men's Field Coats
Home :: Alpha Industries Field Coats :: Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat :: Write Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat Reviews!

Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat : Men's Field Coats Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat
During Vietnam, the M-65 field jacket was issued to soldiers. Now, civilians can wear this tough infantry classic too, whether for fashion, function or to preserve memories of military service. This vintage field coat features a concealed hood/draw-cords for the waist, hood and hems to preserve warmth and dryness. The hunting coat’s brass zipper and snapping fasteners look fantastic while keeping out the elements. The army jacket’s bi-swing back ensures unrestrained movement.
Overall Product Rating: Very Good
Write your own review!
40 review(s) written for the Alpha Industries M-65 Field Coat
Viewing 1-20 of 40
First | Previous   1 | 2   Next | Last
Show All
Excellent Excellent
Reviewed by: Jason Monday, May 19, 2014
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Got the jacket today, in excellent condition, everything looked fine, no loose stitching or buttons as others have said(maybe that was luck though), good sturdy looking material. Pockets were good,some have complained about the bottom pockets being smaller, they may be but they are easily big enough to fit your hand in, the inside pockets are also well done. Well worth the money and I would easily recommend to a friend.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair Built well, but ill fitting
Reviewed by: mattkoyak Friday, May 16, 2014
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I'm 6'1", roughly 210 lbs, and typically wear a 44L so I purchased the XL. It's certainly loose enough in the mid-section, but tight in the shoulders and short in the sleeves. I really like it, but don't wear it as often as I had planned because of the sleeve length.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Alpha Industoris M-65 Field Coat.
Reviewed by: TOSHIYUKI OMURO Wednesday, May 07, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I like this M-65 Field Coats color and
design. But a little bit regret because
Made in Cina. I wish Made in USA but
sewing perfect. I will long time use.
Liner is very warm looking foward winter.
Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Alpha Industoris M-65 Field Coat.
Reviewed by: TOSHIYUKI OMURO Monday, May 05, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I like design and color but itis regret
because made in Cina.I wish made in USA.sewing is perfect.expect long time
use.liner is very worm.
Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good New M65 + Liner
Reviewed by: DW Macaulay Saturday, April 19, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Still decently made, there aren't really any options: any remaining surplus jackets are in pretty bad shape.
The button stitching is not "mil spec" and they need to be resewn to secure.
New liner has elastic cuffs, with no button holes to secure to the jacket - they pull out every time you take the coat off.
Seams look pretty good but not as good as GI or older "Made In USA" Alpha M65s.
Pocket snaps are crimped poorly on mine, leaving a sharp edge that gets me under the fingernail when I put a hand in a pocket. I hope to fix this soon but they should be finished flat.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair Expensive disappointment
Reviewed by: Fernando González del Hierro Saturday, March 08, 2014
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Notice to all customers from EU countries: very slow (and too expensive) sending: price of the jacket + sending taxes + customs fees… At the end, a big and real steal!

It doesn´t worth paying so much for a jacket… made in China.

This is the first and the last time I buy anything out of the European Union countries!

Goodbye forever and luck in life.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Poor Fashion instead of the Quality!
Reviewed by: Frasse Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Also as one reviewer earlier mentioned, the quality of the one I purchased 8 years ago was real good (that one was made in Korea). Not only the poor quality with a lot of loose threads but the style is also changed. (Is it a fashion thing?). Alpha industries is not the same Awesome brand it used to be. Too bad for us old faithful customers!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Outperforms
Reviewed by: Dave Monday, January 20, 2014
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I don't like writing reviews on anything until I've had a product for some time. I've had my field coat for 3 years. Before I start, I have a hooded flight jacket (cold weather), a light and cold weather flight jacket, and a few duty coats for my job in law enforcement. I also bought the liner for this coat. I the did the following to the field coat after purchase: sprayed with garment waterproofing, had a piece of rip stop nylon sewn on the outside of the hood and a piece of fleece seen on the inside of the hood. I also had an extra piece of Velcro sewn on the jacket so the Velcro tab would hold. With those adjustments, and the liner, this coat outperforms every other coat I have. I'd wear it all the time except it isn't dressy enough for more formal occasions. I realize some don't want to do anything to their gear after purchase. For me, nothing comes 100% suited for me, this coat included, by with some low cost modifications it is the best coat I have.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Soddisfatto
Reviewed by: Marco Bussetti Wednesday, January 08, 2014
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Ho acquistato la mia prima giacca nel 1984 pagandola 120.000 lire mi sembrava una enormità ma mi piaceva,l'ho usata tutti i giorni riponendola solo in estate è pratica,comoda,facile da lavare.Ne ho cercata disperatamente un'altra'nel tempo sono ingrassato,finalmente l'ho trovata,prezzo 140,00 euro spero solo che sia all'altezza della precedente.A proposito faccio il camionista sette giorni su sette.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Great Jacket - get one. . maybe two
Reviewed by: Chris Tune Monday, January 06, 2014
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I'd recommend this jacket! The shell is great with no liner on a moderate day, and has every feature you want, including adjustable everything (draw strings, velcro, snaps everywhere) and can be highly resistant to wind and rain. The liner makes this thing good to about 40 degrees. The liner is think poly batting. I'd only wish there was a down liner available, that would make this suitable for snow and down to zero degrees. A liner like that would be easy to make. Everything is super ergonomic, and either zips or buttons, or cinches with velcro. I have an all Alpha set, but there are other manufacturers whose liner also fits. The Alpha is better because it has a tight fitting wrist elastic. This really makes a comfort difference on a overly cool day. I hate being cold. DOWN. That's the only thing to make this perfect. Otherwise 9.999 rating!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Poor disappointed
Reviewed by: Tom Sowers Wednesday, December 25, 2013
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Although the Alpha seemed well made initially, I have in fact noticed some issues with quality. Poorly constructed seams, loose and missing buttons and snaps. The fabric composition is not the same as my last M-65. I was certainly NOT impressed with the made in China label. And the fact that it cost well over $100 and did not include the button-in liner is unthinkable to me. Were it not a gift, I would most certainly return it.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Positive feedback for the M65 fiel coat
Reviewed by: A.Tzimas Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I just received my L-Regular M-65 Khaki field coat within a week and Im really satisfied with it.
To be honest I did read some of the last reviews and was worried a bit if there would be any issues but no issues at all.
First thing I did was washing in 90 celsius circle for 2 hours to check out endurance of fabrics etc, everything is just fine,it fits perfectly.
I think it was a good buy after all and therefore I will recommend this eshop of Alphaindustries to my friends and whoever is interested.
I think QC(Quality Control) is the most important section of a multinational industry so whether this field coat is made in China or some others country facility the standards should be strictly the same and I think this is what I saw in mine,and this is a fact for me which matters a lot for me.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent purpose of the button holes on the lapel
Reviewed by: Frank Friday, October 18, 2013
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: The LAPEL button holes are there for the separate winter hood. I live in Canada and I prefer the M65 as my outer garment, especially during winter storms. Its tough and versatile. Apparently, the winter hood is of no use in the jungles of tropical Vietnam.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Fair Meh!
Reviewed by: Oscar Chica Saturday, April 13, 2013
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: PROS:
- Looks great
- Roomy and comfortable
- Combined with a polar fleece underneath, keeps me warm down to about 0 Celsius

CONS:
- USA made jacket has 100% cotton outer shell: no water repellency
- Washed once in cold water: already some discoloration
- Weak construction: 1 snap button has fallen off after only 3 weeks
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent New Jacket
Reviewed by: Mike Thursday, March 14, 2013
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I've owned my Alpha M-65 for almost 30 years. It still looks like new. I love the Scovill zipper. The best zipper I've had on a piece of clothing. It always fits perfectly, never binds or makes itself difficult to zip up. I just ordered a black one, and I hope the China made jacket is not to bad. I hate to send it back. I paid about $40 when I bought the USA made field jacket. Really how much would it cost to have these jackets made in the USA. $200, $300, I would consider, if it was of the same quality of my 30 year old jacket. It's almost like Doc's. China made cost $120, English made cost $200. It's a huge difference in quality and I have paid the price difference for the better quality English version. I think companies think we want everything cheaper. They just never ask us if that is the case.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Fix the loose button problem!
Reviewed by: AZ Saturday, March 09, 2013
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Great coat, material is awesome!
Buttons need to be fixed
I bought a green on and black one
They are my favorite!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent Alpha M-65 is Crap
Reviewed by: JE Thursday, December 20, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Here are the cons, I don't have any pros, would not buy again.
American classic made in china.
Buttons falling off, out of the package.
Low quality fabric and manufacturing.
Sizes are not consistent.
Velcro is sub standard.

My advice, buy a used one, it costs a 3rd as much and has twice the quality.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Excellent Great for Down Under
Reviewed by: Trevor Don Friday, November 30, 2012
Verified Buyer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: I was looking for a general field jacket with some cool heritage. The M65 fitted the bill. Based on the other reviews I ordered one smaller than I normally would. I am 110kgs and 185cm tall. I got a medium. Straight away I checked all the buttons and zips, then I chucked it straight on. Awesome jacket for our milder Australian conditions. I am very pleased. Just need it to get cold enough to wear. Thanks Alpha
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Poor No where close to GI or any previous commercial version
Reviewed by: Mico Smiljanic Saturday, November 17, 2012
Verified Reviewer - Click For Details
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: This is my third M-65 jacked in 18 years. First one from 1995 (still operational) and the later one purchased at 2006 were completely made in USA - and it shows. This latest incarnation is no where close to any of them: poor sewing (two buttons had to be re-attached after two months!)smaller pockets (both upper and lower), lower pockets positioned higher and being 6,3 with long arms I can barely put my hands in without looking like weirdo. Inside pockets on the liner also MUCH smaller, good for two sets of lipstick...whoever re-designed this one was cutting corners relentlessly. Bottom button at the front of the jacket repositioned about 1 inch higher -why, so it looks funky when I go to Opera?! All in all very disappointed, will get rid of it and continue to wear my old M-65 jackets as long as Alpha do not put it`s act together and fix this once great product.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No

Very Good Not a real m65
Reviewed by: martin Thursday, November 08, 2012
Would you recommend the M-65 Field Coat to a friend? YES
Pros:
Cons:
Purchased From:
Review: Pockets are too small compared to original m65. Seems to be quality fabric. I wish that Alpha would have stuck with the original m65 specifications. Made in China.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes - No